European Central Bank (ECB)


    The European Central Bank (ECB) is the institution responsible for the monetary policy of the eurozone. As the euro is one of the leading reserve currencies, the ECB is one of the world’s most important central banks.

    Reports published by the ECB have a major impact on the currency markets. Its headquarters are in Frankfurt, Germany. It is jointly owned by the central banks of the eurozone members.

    The primary objective of the ECB is to maintain price stability within the eurozone as well as being responsible for issuing euro banknotes.

    The ECB has all the duties of a central bank, with the difference that it is responsible for 17 countries. This makes balancing the requirements of the different eurozone economies much harder.

    Also see: