Bank of England


    The Bank of England is the central bank of the United Kingdom. One of its main functions is issuing the British pound.

    The decisions made by the Bank of England, as well as any speeches made by the governor or board members, have an impact on the currency.

    It was established in 1694 as the government’s bank. It is the second-oldest central bank in the world and its official name is Governor and Company of the Bank of England. Its remit covers the whole of the UK – England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

    The Bank’s headquarters are in the City of London, London’s financial district, with a secondary office situated in Leeds. Its nickname is “The Old Lady of Threadneedle Street” after the street it is located on.

    Learn more about the effect of monetary policy on the development of currencies: